You can request your Jodel account to be deleted permanently at any time, either by using the account deletion in the app, or by contacting our Support Team.
Already deleted the app? Click here to check for alternatives.
What does deleting my Jodel account mean?
Deleting your account is permanent and irreversible. All your personal data will be removed from our servers. The data that cannot be restored after deletion includes your published content, Karma and Votes, profile data as well as your in-app purchases.
After deletion has been completed:
we're unable to restore any of your content
we're unable to issue any refunds
all in-app purchases will be deleted
your account will not be able to be restored.
How does deleting my Jodel account work?
Submit your deletion request via app or by contacting our Support
The deletion will take place 14 days from when you submit your request
After deletion date, we'll have removed all your personal information from our servers
Can I cancel the deletion of my Jodel Account?
Yes, you're able to cancel the account deletion within the app at any time within the 14 day period, or by contacting our Support Team.
Will bans be wiped after deleting my Jodel account?
No, deleting your account will not lead to wiping the ban-history of the device. We are entitled to store the hashed device IDs of users who have been excluded from the app in a separate database.
The purpose of this measure is to prevent misuse by circumventing the blocking. This procedure complies with the requirements of the General Data Protection Regulation and is based on the legal basis of legitimate interest (Art. 6 para. 1 UAbs. 1 lit. f DSGVO). The legitimate interest of the responsible party, in this case "The Jodel Venture GmbH", is explicitly to ensure that the app is not misused or that content that violates the law (this also includes all violations of the Community Guidelines) is blocked. In this context, the goal we want to achieve cannot be achieved by milder, equally suitable means that collect significantly less personal data. A balancing of interests shows that your interests do not outweigh the interests of the company and consequently the readout of technical data to prevent misuse is permissible in accordance with Art. 6 Para. 1 UAbs. 1 lit.f) DSGVO.
After the storage period of 18 months, these identification factors will also be deleted by us.